Ragnar Relay DC – Quick Update

On Friday, September 21, Team Ray’s Hell began our trek from Cumberland, MD down to Washington, DC (actually the National Harbor).  It was a lot of running, and time spent cramped in a van, but it was SUPER fun!

Van 2 of team Ray’s Hell at Exchange 6 (Ragnar DC)

Since I was scheduled to run 20 miles that weekend, I wanted to do legs that totaled at least 20 miles.  I chose Runner 8.  Stupidly.  This is the elevation profile of my 3 legs.

Leg 1 – 6.8 miles

Leg 2 – 6.9 miles

Leg 3 – 6.9 miles

My 3rd leg doesn’t seem that bad.  But, oh, it was.  Between all the uphills and downhills on the first 2 legs, my quads were over running.  The downhill part (Capital Crescent Trail) and the flat part (C&O Canal Towpath) were do-able, but those last hills on completely dead legs were just awful.  Also, it’s important to note that the last half-mile was completely uphill.  It was just mean!

But I finished, and I’m decently proud of myself for doing that.  And once the soreness goes away, and I’m able to walk again, I’m sure I’ll feel even better about it!

Yay for team Ray’s Hell (slogan: 11 Ladies. Just one Ray.)! We did an awesome job and I had so much fun! Also, HUUUUGE thanks to all the volunteers out on the course! This literally could not have happened without them all!

More pictures/ a real recap will be coming soon!

HAPPY MONDAY!

Categories: Fitness, Weekend Activities | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Ragnar Relay DC – Quick Update

  1. I really want to do a ragnar relay next summer! I can’t wait to see more photos and hear about it!

    Also, those hills look killer!

  2. That’s so awesome that you did a Ragnar!! Congrats!

  3. WOW great job! I’ve always wanted to do one but just didn’t have a team ya know? It always looks super fun 🙂

  4. Pingback: Ragnar Relay (Washington, DC) – Race Recap « Candy Coated Runner

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

