Race Recap: Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest

It’s def over a week late, but here it is! A recap of my recent 8k race…

On Saturday, July 21st the Night Crawlers team was ready to run the 2012 Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest… but first, let’s start at the beginning.

And by beginning, I mean the t-shirt creation 🙂

Yep, creating team t-shirts is one of my specialties.  And this time, I even had some help and guidance from these lovely ladies!

And boy did those team shirts look good 🙂

Oh yeah, and the race.  That was fun too!  It was an 8k through the neighborhoods of Rockville, MD.  The last time I did it was 2 years ago.  I wasn’t in great shape, and I didn’t run it incredibly hard, so my memory of the actual course was a bit fuzzy.  But this year, I had been thinking about it for a while, and I’ve been making a conscious effort with track workouts in order to get faster in shorter distances.  My last 8k was in December, and I finished in 42:XX.  I was hoping for a PR this time, and with the plan of averaging about an 8:30 pace.  Since I had done a 3 mile tempo run a few weeks ago at an 8:15 pace, I was confident I could hold 8:30 for 5 miles.

Well, it didn’t quite work out like that.  But, I did run a good hard race, and I’m very happy with my performance.

The first 2ish miles of the race took us up and down hills, through the neighborhoods.  At the first mile marker, I realized I was running about a 9:00 min/mile pace, which was so confusing because I felt like I was working really hard.  Mile 2 came with about an 8:45 pace, which given the hills is pretty decent.  I stopped keeping track of my remaining miles, but I definitely kicked it up once I hit the mile 3.  I kept telling myself, “you can run any pace for 2 miles!”

The last mile, I really kicked it up! It was significantly flatter the the previous miles, and I was still feeling strong.  I came across the finish line in 42:55, with an average of an 8:38 pace.  I was super pumped because I was so sure I had PRed! And it felt great!

The last 8k I did was in December, and I ran it while experiencing pain from ITBS.  Although it was flatter, and the weather was better, I definitely felt stronger this time around.  Welp, turns out I did not PR.  I ran 42:39 back in December.  I missed a PR by 16 seconds.  Whomp whomp.

You win some, you lose some.  But was really mattered is that I ran hard and strong, and had a great time with my teammates.

(and that we had a lot of free beers to consume…)

Will definitely be back next year for this race (4 free beers per person!!)! It’s fun, local and relatively small.  Registration is also pretty inexpensive! And its a great mid-summer race!

Categories: Fitness | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Race Recap: Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest

  1. Good effort and a great achievement. Check out my blog where I try and give advice on making fitness part of our enduring culture and not a temporary chore.

  2. 4 free beers, that’s pretty much unheard of, I have only been to races where it’s 1 free beer, and it’s usually some watered down crap like Coors.. eww

  3. Yay shirts! Making them and running with a group is always so much fun 🙂 Oh, and so is free beers LOL

  4. Congrats on the PR!

    • Thanks! I’m pretty sure, had the conditions been the same, I would have definitely blown that time out of the water! Oh the pleasures of running and racing in the humid summers…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

