Professional fishing, here I come!

This weekend I went fishing for the first time.  And I’m happy to say,  I think I might have a new career. 🙂

Kevin, Brian and I headed out on the Chesapeake Bay on Brian’s boat.  It was my first time going fishing so I really had no idea what to expect.  So I just sat back to relax, and enjoy the ride.

Please enjoy my finger in the upper right hand corner

Luckily for me, it was a GORGEOUS day. Humidity was down, the sun was out, and I was very, very happy. 🙂

We settled in our a “lucky fishing spot”.  Since I had never fished before, I had to get a “casting out”, “reeling in” and “applying bait” tutorial.  I’m pleased to say I did not get the hook stuck in anyone behind me.  (What? I’ve seen this in movies before!) But I was really grossed out by the squid we used as bait. Eww.

After the tutorial was done, Brian explained the scoring system.

  • 1 point for first fish
  • 1 point for biggest fish
  • 1 point for largest diversity of fish
  • 1 point for each witness to catching a fish (people on other boats)
  • 1 point for last fish

Brian got us started by catching the first fish.  I kept thinking that I had a fish on my line, but it always came up empty. 😦  Kevin was next, catching a fish, and then accidentally killing it (we threw back the rest of the fish we caught).

But finally, I caught a fish! My very first fish!

But then Kevin had to go and try to one up me.

2 fish at once? Baby stuff.I could do that (another day, maybe).

And then I caught another! Clearly, I was ready for the big times.  Being that awesome felt GREAT!

But sadly, that was the last fish we saw (which means, I ended up with one point! But Kevin won overall with 2 points, he caught a striped bass and a white perch).

So, we just enjoyed the water, the weather and the ride.

And some of us even got to drive, because we’re all professionals here.

I’ll let you all know when I make it to the Bass Pro Championship (is that a real thing?).  Maybe I’ll let a reader even join me! 🙂

Is everyone enjoying the Track and Field Olympic Trials as much as I am??!! I LOVE that Dathan Ritzenheim made the US Olympic team in the 10,000m! I’m so happy for him (and Amy Hastings too!) OMG, I’m so excited for the Olympics!

What’s your favorite event in the Olympics? I love track & field, swimming and of course gymnastics!

Categories: Weekend Activities | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Professional fishing, here I come!

  1. I’m the same with the olympics. I missed the track and field last night but caught some of the swimming trials. It’s so exciting to watch!!

    Go you for catching a fish! I used to go deep sea fishing with my dad in Florida but I rarely ever caught anything.

  2. Reblogged this on 1 Million Reblogs.

  3. I’m glad I found your blog through Kris’s! Anyways-I got wicked excited because I saw Chesapeake Bay and I was like, does she live in Hampton Roads!? Then realized you were a bit North. (boo), I’m glad you had such a fun time on the boat.

    I’m a swimmer and a runner but I also find gymnastics extremely interesting. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I actually live in DC, but originally from MD, so I hang out there every now and again.

  4. YAY congrats on fishing for the first time!! I love fishing and become a professional for a week out of the year when we rent a cabin in northern WI. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

