I’m still here!

Goodness, it’s been a while since I’ve blogged!  Work has been crazy, life has been busy, and I’ve just needed every bit of down time I can get.  🙂

Just a quick recap for the past week-ish:

Saturday : I went to the Great Grapes wine festival with Kevin.  We enjoyed some great local MD wines, some not so good ones, and even sampled a bunch of different olive oils! (Yes, I LOVE olive oil). The weather was perfect, so it was a great day to be out and drinking wine tasting. 🙂

Sunday: I got tricked into helping my mom with one of her “projects” for most of the day.  When I finally got back to my apartment, I promptly started my cross-apartment move (one of my roommates moved out, so I moved into her room).  Interrupted that with a quick 5ish mile run with KR (so sorry for being late!) and then back to my apartment to finish moving stuff.  Super proud of myself for taking my bed apart, and being able to get it back together. Without it falling apart while I sleep (well, not yet anyway).

You know, just being Daphne the Builder

Monday: Work, work, work.  Then met up for a “run”. But decided I wasn’t really feeling it, so we did a sort of modified circuit workout/run. We ran to the WWII Memorial, did some pushups, tricep dips, abs. Then ran to the Washington Monument, and did the same thing.  Finished up by running back to the Mall, and did another set.  My arms and abs were DONE!  I probably did a total of 3.5-4 miles, BUT I def did a total of 45+ pushups that day.  20 pushups is a lot for me, so 45 was CRAZY!

Tuesday: Run club day! Normally I go out with the 5 mile group, but today again, I just wasn’t feeling it.  Decided to just do 3 miles, which ended up being harder than I wanted.  We decided about halfway through, that we wanted to catch this guy that had sprinted ahead of the group and lost us (mostly bc we got stuck at lights).  So we were in a basic all-out sprint for about 2 miles.  It was rough, but so worth it.  For the record, we didn’t catch him, but it’s only bc we got stopped at all the lights he was able to keep going through. Grumble, grumble.

Wednesday: National Running Day! I should have been so excited to run, but I wasn’t.  So I forced myself through 2ish miles and then returned home to grab a burger with my roommate.  Good Stuff Eatery, thank you for being across the street.  🙂

Thursday: Track workout! I know Wednesdays are supposed to be speed days, but we had to switch it around this week.  After work, work, work I dragged my butt to the track.  Imagine my shock and surprise when I went to change, and realized I had no socks! Waah! So I found these little gems at the nearby CVS.

Since I’ve been so tired of running lately, I decided to switch it up with the track work and stay away from the 800s.  Instead, I did what I guess you could call a ladder workout? 5 min hard, 5 min recovery, 4 min hard, 4 min recovery, 3 min hard, 3 min recovery, 2 min hard, 2 min recover, 1 min hard, 1 min recovery.  I’m gonna be honest, I totally thought it would be easier that knocking out 4 800s, but it totally wasn’t.  The first 2 sets weren’t bad, bc you got plenty of recovery, but the last 3 were def more challenging. I tried to make each set a bit faster (pace-wise) than the last.  I don’t know if I really succeeded, but I can def say that all the “hard” sessions were below an 8 min pace.  All in all I think it was a good, quick (30 min for the workout) speed session.

Friday (today): Planned to do a short recovery run this morning, but decided to nix it.  Instead, I will spend my post-work hours hanging out at the Bullpen (or whatever its called these days) and gorging myself on food trucks!

I’ve been feeling very unmotivated and tired, and just generally not in the mood to run.  While this isn’t particularly unusual for me, it does worry me a bit, since MCM training will start in a few weeks.  So, that being said, I’ve decided to discontinue with the RunStreak. 😦  I obviously would have liked to see how far I could have gotten, but I’m more focused on MCM training and making my marathon goal.  I don’t want to burnout right before I have to start dedicating myself to my training plan.  So for now, I’m going to decrease my mileage a bit, so that I can make sure that my legs and head are ready to go come July.

Which leads me to the next thing…

I still need to put together my official training plan! Eeeeek! July is almost here!

I usually use Runner’s World’s SmartCoach.  Anyone have any good marathon training plan suggestions?

Fun plans for the weekend?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

