(late) Weekend recap

Happy (end of) Monday! I hope everyone had a great weekend, daylight-savings-time-switch, Monday! Here in DC, the weather was great, so it was all time well spent (or lost).  Although, I did have a slow start this morning, which I’ll blame on that critical hour lost. I’ll recap you day by day (because I know you’re all dying to find out what I did). 🙂

Saturday:

I woke up feeling sneezy and gross.  It was affirmation that I was, in fact, getting sick, so I popped some vitamin C drops, had a slice of toast, and decided to hit the road for some hopefully nasal-clearing miles.  After I got dressed, I realized I was dressed in different shades of blue.  So obviously, I had to throw a wrench in that plan.

i really love these socks

I figured the highlighter-yellow socks did just the trick!

So I hit the road with the intention of making my way to the Lincoln memorial, and see how I felt as I ran.  As predicted, a nice easy run cleared my head up a bit, and I ended up doing about 6.5 miles.  I did learn a few things on this run:

  • Tourist season has begun.  I need to start staying away from the National Mall and monument areas.  Which is a shame, bc those are some of my favorite routes.
  • Construction on the reflecting pool sucks.  With all the construction vehicles, gross emissions, and path closures, that area was a mess.  Must avoid.
  • Capitol Hill is a big f**** hill.  And I’m terribly out of shape.  Both contribute to an awful last mile.  Of every. freakin. run.
  • Capitol Hill causes me to have a fast first mile and a slow last mile.  No fair! (i guess i could just get better a running hills, huh?)

I basically spent the rest of my Saturday going from running store to running store, to the mall and back to another running store, looking for a size 9 in the Brooks Pure Cadence.  I was beginning to loose hope (everyone either had an 8.5 or a 9.5, or had this color) and then FINALLY! Charm City Run saved my life!  (and Kevin ended up getting a pair of Pure Flows)

(aaaand a huge thanks to Kevin for basically chauffeuring me around until I found the perfect pair!)

Obviously, I had to test these babies out for a recovery/shake out run the next day! 🙂

Sunday:

Kevin and I decided that we wanted to get out of the city and check out some nearby trails.  So we headed over to the Patapsco Valley State Park to see what it had to offer.  We just had 3-4 miles in the plans.  Nothing more.

Until we got lost.

Using paint is clearly one of my strengths. And yes, Kevin's face is red. He's a ginger-face and blonde-head. Also, notice the sweet kicks we're both rocking! 🙂

And when you’re lost, you may as well keep running, right?  Well in total, we ended up doing about 5.5. 🙂  It was all good though, because the weather was beautiful, and obviously trails offer great scenery.  And, my shoes were AWESOME! I know it’s early in the game, but I think it could be love. 🙂

I’m a little over 4 weeks away from the GW Parkway 10 miler, so it’s finally time for me to start getting more serious.  And these shoes will help me, right? (right, of course!)

Final thought: I feel like Spring is really here.  Yesterday was in the 60s, today was about 70 and tomorrow is supposed to be in the 70s.  And, I’m seeing these everywhere:

(source)

DaffNEdills make Spring official 🙂

And now, I’m sitting with a glass of wine (to celebrate the extra evening daylight!) and watching the Bachelor! Argh! OMG! Thoughts?!!!!

What’s you’re current shoe obsession? I still love my Brooks Adrenaline’s, but now there’s a chance that the Pure Cadence could win my heart. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “(late) Weekend recap

  1. I remember biking up Capitol Hill on my last DC trip. It’s intense! Love the socks!!

  2. I used to wear the adrenalines but switched to the ravennas when brooks changed the adrenaline model (I think model 11). I’m probably going to go back though because it’s a possibility that my shoe change is what caused my injury ugh!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the nice weather, we’re hitting 77 tomorrow!!

    • I have thought about trying out the ravennas, but so far I’m pretty happy with the adrenalines. I did hear that a bunch of people were unhappy with the change to the 11s, but those were the first pair that I owned, so they’re still okay for me!

  3. Mizuno Wave Inspires! I love ’em, but I think they changed them some in the latest iteration. I’ll run in them for this weekend’s half, but I’m treating my self to a new fitting soon.

    • I have a friend that swears by those! She also has a really awesome marathon time, so she might be onto something! Good luck this weekend! I’ll be on the course (most likely miles 2, 6, and 11) cheering my head off for everyone!

      • Wow – way to bounce around the course! That’s awesome! I’ll be the slow-moving redhead – ha!

  4. I’m a HUGE fan of mizunos…specifically the wave creation and wave prophecy. Been wearing mizunos for years. Bachelor? Ughhhhn. Such a weird season. Did you think Ashley (i.e. Ashley and Jp) was really annoying when she was on at the end of the show?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

