Ready for Spring!

Aren’t we all ready for Spring time?  Even though DC’s “winter” has been really mild, I’m ready to put away the boots and sweaters and bring out the capris and sandals!  In addition to the increasingly warmer weather, I’m also ready to decide on my Spring races and start kicking (PR) butt!

Since completely bombing in Miami (I’m totally okay dealing with it though!) I’ve been “base training”.  It was all about enjoying the runs, regardless of pace.  But lately, I’ve been itching to do some speed work and am ready to set some goals.  So these are my major race plans so far

March

I wanted to do the Rock and Roll USA half on March 17th, but I dropped the ball and waited too long to register. But that’s okay because I have a few friends running it, so now I have the chance to spectate! I’m excited to cheer for Maria, Jane, Krystal-Rose and so many others!  I’m working on my poster-making skills as we speak…

April

I also failed to get into the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, but that’s because they rejected me in the lottery system.  Boo!  But again, it’s my chance to cheer Sam on to her first 10 miler! Yay!

George Washington Parkway Classic – April 22nd: I finally made it into a race I wanted! I did this race last year, and it was absolutely beautiful and enjoyable.  I’m very excited to do it again, and hopefully get a PR in the 10 mile!

May

Frederick Running Festival (half-marathon) – May 6th:  I’ve never done this race before, but its been on my radar for a few years now.  Doesn’t hurt that its 1/2 of the Maryland Double, which I’m DETERMINED to do! And it was a solid option, until Sarah presented…

Harpers Ferry Half Marathon – May 12th: Doing this race would give us (Sarah and I) the state of West Virginia, plus the chance to hang out in Harpers Ferry.  The questions is, can I handle 2 half-marathons, one week apart?  And if not, am I ready to put the dream of the Maryland Double off for another year?

Last year, I managed to pull off 2 ten-milers a week apart (Cherry Blossom and GW Parkway Classic were back to back in 2011).  And I had a great time doing both! Will the additional 3 miles (6 miles total) be too much for my leggies?  Not sure yet, but I haven’t registered for either yet, so both options are still open.

June

Mount Washington Road Race – June 16th: Sarah and I heard about this race from a past issue of Runner’s World, and we were immediately interested.  7.6 miles uphill?  Obvious choice for two gals that fail (to put it mildly) at training.  Yet, attempt (AND FINISH) we will, because the sense of accomplishment from finishing would be THE BEST.  Also, we’d cross New Hampshire off the list.  It’s a win-win situation! We get to run to the top of a mountain AND visit the Granite State! However, this one’s not guaranteed.  You seeeee, they do a lottery, so we’ll have to wait until March 16th to know if we get to run it.  I’m excited AND hopeful, after all, its “just one hill”! 🙂

The rest of the summer will be filled with smaller races, 5ks to 10ks, while I move into marathon training mode for the Marine Corps Marathon in October.  Last year, I had my marathon debut at the Marine Corps Marathon.  And although I’m proud of myself for getting through it and finishing strong, my time was not what I wanted.  So, I’ll be back for another round on October 28th! (Registration opens on March 7th at 3pm!)

Is anyone else still deciding on their Spring/Summer races?

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Ready for Spring!

  1. Awesome! Looks like you found a bunch of fun races to do this summer 🙂

    I’m starting to plan my spring/summer races too… I’m itching to run in warm weather!

  2. Emma

    I registered for a marathon a week after the National Half Marathon, not realizing the National Half Marathon was so close. I can’t run it and they won’t let me get a refund or defer it another year, but I can sell you my place if you are interested.

    • Ooooh, I’m tempted. But I think I have to pass. I don’t think I’m anyway close to being in half-marathon shape! Good luck finding someone!

  3. Fun! I was just out in Harpers Ferry for a hike – would be fun to run out there! I’ll be running the GW Parkway Classic, too!

  4. My first race of the season will be a 5k march 25th Chris4Life Scope it Out. I’ve never run a race in DC and I’m really looking forward to it. I’m hoping it’ll get me motivated for the 2 10k’s and the 10miler i signed up for when I was all so excited about running.

  5. Sounds like you got some exciting races coming up! Not sure about that uphill half, though….kinda sounds like it would be miserable if you ask me ; )

  6. Pingback: Few Things Friday « Candy Coated Runner

  7. Pingback: Decision made « Candy Coated Runner

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

