Welcome back to running!

After taking over a week off of running (bc I’m lazy), I finally made my grand return!  Woo hoo! I also decided on how I want to proceed training-wise for the next few months.

It took some convincing, but I finally made it out the door this evening.  I ran about 4 miles, in an unknown amount of time.  I can be a relatively competitive person, especially with myself.  So, whenever I run with my garmin, I’m constantly aware of my pace.  This sounds like it could be good, but what ends up happening is that I push each and every run.  So, in order to force myself to calm the f**k down, I made the executive decision to leave my garmin at home.  For this run, it worked out great! I was able to relax, and just enjoy the run.  I’m going to start forcing myself to leave my watch at home for at least one run a week (maybe long run?)

Do you have this over-competitive problem?

I also thought a little about future training and races.  Since I’m still experiencing some tightness in my IT Band, I think I will hold of on planning for any races until March.  That way, I can focus on building a solid base, stretching and strengthening.  Luckily for me, in the latest issue of Runner’s World, there’s a piece on base training, so I can make sure to do it right.  The next 3-4 weeks (at least) will be my base training.  I’m excited to begin “base-ing”! 🙂

And now, onto today’s breakfast:

Chobani, apple butter and Kashi cereal! Yum!

Over the weekend, my sister and I decided to make some apple butter.  Last time I made it, it was such a hit, but a tad too sweet for me (weird, considering my passion for refined sugars).  So this time, I added less sugar and it was perfect!  This morning, I decided to add the apple butter to my greek yogurt, along with some Kashi Go Lean Crunch.  I promise, it was way more appetizing than it looks!  The sweet and tartness of the apple butter complemented the yogurt perfectly, and the cereal added a little crunch!

While I was at my parent’s house this weekend, I also took advantage of my Mom’s grocery shopping.  She went on a fruit & veggies run, so naturally I had to come along (with my own grocery bag too)! I walked away with tomatoes, bell peppers, grapefruits (breakfast tomorrow!), swiss chard, apples and broccoli. (Thanks Marie!) So needless to say, I was excited to come up with something to cook tonight.

I’ve never cooked swiss chard myself (i know, Marie treats me so well) so I decided to put that on the menu tonight.  Plus, I had some leftover Buffalo Chicken Dip from the Super Bowl fun that I wanted to use.

A buffalo chicken sandwich with ranch dip, and swiss chard and bell peppers

I sautéed some garlic and red bell peppers with the swiss chard.  And then I made a sandwich with sliced deli chicken, tomatoes and the buffalo chicken dip.  I also mixed some ranch seasoning with greek yogurt to make a ranch dip for my sandwich 🙂 Overall a great and super filling dinner.

I feel very content with Monday.  I got to work semi-on time (thanks WMATA for the 15 min delay), I did a good amount of work (thanks IT staff, for not getting the Intranet up ALL DAY), I went for a great run  AND I made a delicious dinner!  Obviously the second part of my day was better than the first.  🙂

Here’s to a great rest of the week!

-daph

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Welcome back to running!

  1. I think in going to have to pick up some apple butter and kashi cereal on my next shopping trip. It sounded delicious!

  2. Apple butter sounds delicious!

  3. Your dinner sounds awesome! Adding swiss chard to the grocery list for tonight…

  4. I’ve never cooked swiss chard before either, I’ll have to check it out. Plus your dinner looks insane- buffalo chicken sandwich.. my boyfriend would go crazy.

    Congrats on the run! I need to pick up the new Runners World.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

