Sunshine, drinks and a bit of running

Now that I’m back in DC, im really, really missing the sunshine and mid-70s temps of Miami, FL.  I know DC isn’t terrrrrribly cold, but it’s certainly not ANYWHERE close to the weather of Miami.  Being down there just forces you to smile 🙂

The whole trip was fantastic.  The food was delicious, the drinks plentiful, and beach time great. Some of us enjoyed the sun more than others, but there will be more on that later (Kevin…).

Cheers! We all got glasses of white wine, yet none were in wine glasses... 🙂

I would also like to add that the sea-gulls were aggressive.  All they wanted were some crumbs, and they did anything to get it.  Despite their ridiculous behavior, Emily did try to save the life of a young sea-gull.  He had some plastic in his beak (he was trying to chow down on it), and Emily loves the earth, and the sea-gull species too much to let that happen.  So, she chased until he let go…

Emily works hard to save a sea-gull life

But the real highlight of the trip was running the ING Miami Half Marathon!  At the expo, I found a knee-strap and was able to run all 13.1 miles, sans ITBS pain! It was far from my best half-marathon, but I’m not allowing myself to think about it too much.  After all, my longest training run was under 5 miles.  But, Rachelle and I did learn a valuable lesson: when you don’t train, 13.1 can be quite difficult (although she TOTALLY blew my time out of the water).

Oh yeah, look at those awesome medals.

I promise I’ll recap the race tomorrow (too much to write, right now), but before I head to bed, I will leave you with the dinner Kevin and I had last night.

Yum, yum, yum! Nachos and beer!

Once we arrived back in DC, I declared that I wanted nachos.  And yes, I stuck to that declaration even after stuffing a Cosi sandwich in my face (for the record, we had skipped lunch, so that was my 4:30pm lunch.  I hope there’s no judgement).  So when we finally arrived chez moi, we went grocery store shopping for nacho ingredients.  (Plus, I had to take advantage of the fact that Kevin had a car!).  Ground beef, (Kevin’s choice!) tomatoes, red & green bell peppers, onions, cheese and chips.  Nice and simple.  And yes, I’m the fat kid that HAD to have the dollop of sour cream on the side.

How do you make your favorite nachos?

Tonight, I tried to be healthier and placed the leftover nacho fixings on a bed of salad as my dinner.  Haha, hardly qualified as healthy, but I think it was a step in the right direction 🙂

Night y’all!

-daph

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Sunshine, drinks and a bit of running

  1. I love nachos, too, mmm they’re so good. I usually make ’em with black beans, refried beans, lettuce, salsa, and tons of cheese. Oh, and def gauc on the side. Can’t wait to read your race recap!

  2. Those Nachos look amazing, did you make them or get them at a resturant?

    • Yep! Made them at home! Just topped some chips with ground beef, tomatoes, onions, red & green bell peppers and cheese! Then baked for about 15 minutes!

  3. Congrats on the race!!

    Also, I’m a big fan of chips and cheese. Super easy and really delicious 🙂

  4. Looks delicious! When I get a craving for Mexican food, it’s usually pretty intense. And sour cream is a must.

  5. Congrats on your half!! You definitely deserve nachos and beer! Plus I would imagine, candy too :0)

  6. Omg, those nachos look AMAZING! I LOVE nachos. Here’s what I like on them: cheese… LOTS of it (duh!), guac, jalapenos, and LOTS of salsa. Heaven. Even though I eat meat, I am not a huge fan of meat on my nachos. It takes away from the cheese:chip ratio.

  7. What’s weird is that I ALWAYS crave nachos after a race. Maybe it’s the salt??

  8. oh my, welcome to Miama… Thanks for the comment.. It was a COLD run. I think i AM still slightly chilled haha

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

