Weekend Recap

Ahh, so Monday morning has arrived again.  Hopefully we can all say that we had a great weekend.  I can certainly say that I did!  Quick recap:

Friday:

Sadly, I wasn’t terribly exciting.  The Capital Weather Gang kept tweeting about the impending winter weather.  The DC area was to expect a mix of snow, sleet and some freezing rain.  At first, I was determined to go out anyway.  I mean, I’m young, vibrant, so a little sleet can’t stop me!  But as the evening wore on, I realized how warm and comfy I was at home.  So eventually, I made the decision to stay home, and avoid the sleet, ice, snow.  Plus, I’m clumsy enough after a few drinks.  Throw some ice in the mix, and its a disaster waiting to happen.  PLUS, I decided it was a great time to get some laundry done.  So all in all, Friday night was a good productive night at home.

View from my window of the winter weather

Saturday:

Got up bright and early to make it to my parent’s home, and then up to Baltimore.  For some reason, I always forget that Metro is NOT a good option on the weekends.  I walked to the Eastern Market station, only to be greeted by a 15 min wait for the next train.  I’m not the most patient person, so this annoyed me right away.  I got even more annoyed when I finally arrived at Metro Center to transfer to the red line, only to realize I had to wait 10 min for a train.  Doesn’t Metro know I hate waiting?!

FINALLY arrived home, said hello to Marie and Joe (mother and father), JoAnn and Joey (sister and nephew), and Sasha (crazy, crazy dog).  Then headed to Bmore (why be less?!).  Kevin’s brother and his wife (his sister-in-law?) just had a new baby girl, so we were going to peep into the hospital and say hello to baby Raygan Lynn.

She is so adorable! She slept the entire time we were there, just laying there swaddled in her blankets.  Made me jealous, considering how cold and icy it was outside!  We couldn’t stay for very long, because Kevin had to meet some friends for dinner.  So we said our goodbye’s and headed back to his house in Baltimore.  While he went to dinner, I stayed in with the intent on doing some work.  Instead, I napped.  For like 2 hours.  It was great!

The rest of Saturday night we just hung out with some of Kevin’s friends.  It was very relaxed and chill, the perfect end to a pretty stressful, back-and-forth day.

Sunday:

The day begin mentally prepping for the Ravens vs. Patriots game.  I’m mostly a Redskins fan, but since their season usually ends early, I gladly support Kevin and the Ravens.  A few friends came up to Baltimore, and we headed to Federal Hill to find a place to watch the game.  We eventually settled in at the Cross Street Market with tons of other Ravens fans.  The energy inside that place was great!  Not to mention the 32oz beers for only $6! It was a great place to watch, and the Ravens def played a really good game.  Sadly, the game did not end the way we wanted (and maybe tomorrow I won’t be as disappointed in Billy Cundiff), and we all packed up and headed back to DC.

The rest of my evening involved more football (49ers vs Giants) and the following items:

Oreos, "The Stick", and my resistance band

I did my normal hip & leg exercises and some ab work, followed by stretching, then massage stick.  The stick was painful (as per usj) on my IT band, but I soothed it with thoughts of the oreos and milk to come.  Also, the news of today’s 2 hour delay (courtesy of the Fed Govt) helped! 🙂

I will return to running this evening, for somewhere between 4 and 5.  And I think I’m going to pick up that knee strap and test it out too.  So desperate to not be broken anymore!

I hope everyone had a great weekend too! Did you enjoy Sunday’s football games?  Did your team win?

-daph

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Brrr…just seeing the photo of the snow is making me shiver!

  2. I was rooting for Baltimore, too : ( I was glad the Giants won, though! How’s your IT band? I’ve been using the stick on mine, too.

    • My IT band is getting better. I know I wont be able to do the full half marathon this weekend, but it’d be great if I could get through most. Have any tips?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

