Call me Race Photographer

Yep. I found a new career path, photography.  Specifically, RACE PHOTOGRAPHY.  :)

Kevin and his friend Brian signed up for the Primal Mud Run out in Warrenton, VA.  It was a 4+ mile run, complete with a dip in a pond, a jaunt over some walls, and a crawl through some mud (so I’ve heard).

Kevin tried to get me to join in on the fun, but I politely declined.  I like the idea of having a different challenge other than a distance race, but this one seemed to be a bit more than what I could handle.  It was rumored that you had to scale a 12ft wall AND carry a log up and down a hill.  Remember my guns? Yeah, I can’t barely carry a water bottle.  But apparently it wasn’t that bad and I totally could have handled it.

Oh well, next time.  Maybe.  Probably not. :)

After waiting forever Kevin and Brian finally came around the bend to the final obstacle.

And then they tackled the mud pit, taking care to stay out of the way of the barbed wire that was hovering above their heads.

Some didn’t do so well avoiding the barbed wire.

But all in all, they both had a great time tackling the obstacles and getting down and dirty.  And I had a great time photographing it all.  Next time you need a race photographer, don’t forget about me!

Have you ever done a mud run? Would you do it again?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Call me Race Photographer

  1. I have done one mud run, and i have a giant scar on my knee. It was fun, but i think one is enough for my lifetime, unless someone begs me to do it. And seriously, i was washing mud out of stuff for weeks! I will stick to road racing :)

    • haha yes! the mud gets everywhere! I think I’d like to challenge myself, but I’d be worried about actually hurting myself too!

  2. Looks intense! I’m not sure if I’d be brave enough to try it either. Barbed wire? I don’t handle blood very well.

    • Yeah! I was worried that it would be super intense too, but the boys said it wasnt that bad. But yeah, the barbed wire at the end? I’m pretty sure I would have gotten tangled up in that, somehow.

  3. I have a lot of friends who did that run, looks like it was fun (and HOT!). Great pics :-) I’ve never done a mud run and I’m sort of afraid too because I think I’ll get hurt and not be able to do road races anymore…

    • That was one of the reasons I decided not to do it. I’m pretty clumsy on my own, so I was pretty sure I’d get hurt trying to climb/jump/flop over something!

  4. I never have, but I have always wanted to! I think they look fun : )

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

