Monday? DONE

I could start off complaining how looooong yesterday was, but that’s mostly false.  You see, the federal govt had a 2 hr delay, and thus my office did too ( I dont work for the fed, but we follow their weather closings).  My day started at 9am, when i begrudgingly rolled out of bed.  I will say, that I think I was a better person yesterday because of it! I’m all for 2-hr-delays EVERYDAY!

I actually did a good amount of work yesterday (but never can accomplish enough), so I’m pretty pleased with that.  Around 630pm, I shut down my computer and headed down to the gym in my office building.  This gym is creepy beyond belief, but it’s still a free gym with a treadmills, ellipticals, a bike, stair steppers and free weights.  Daphne can’t say no to free!

The plan was to get a good 5 miles in on the treadmill.  I decided to use the treadmill for 2 reasons : 1) so when my knee starts to hurt, I can hop off immediately without worrying about having to walk home in the cold/dark 2) to get my body used to running in warmer temperatures.  The second reason seems legit, if I was in full-on racing condition.  Which I’m not.  I’m just mostly in denial that I cant run more than 5 miles.  Life is so hard.

Anyhow, I hopped on the treadmill, and only managed to make it 2 miles before I had to stop because of tightness in my shin/calf area.  I stretched (well tried to, that area is sort of hard to get) and tried hopping on the other treadmill.  I figure that maybe it was banked or something (because those treadmills are ooooold) so the next one would be better.  But it wasn’t. :(  I was only able to go for about 5 more minutes before I called it quits.  I already have one problem I’m fighting, not ready to deal with another.  So I finished up with 25 minutes on the elliptical.  Not my ideal workout.

Has anyone else experienced tightness on the side of the shin? What did you do for it?

Not the best workout ever. Also, not the best picture of me either.

I trudged home, disappointed and hungry, and quickly warmed up dinner.  It was leftover pasta with tempeh. (too hungry for a picture, sorry!)  I will admit, I was hesitant to try the tempeh, but I really ended up liking it.  The one I bought was already seasoned, but I’ve heard that it takes seasoning well.  Then, because I still felt bad for myself, I had 4 oreos and milk.  I like to think that the oreos are cancelled out by the goodness of consuming milk. :)

While I’m dining, I get this picture text from sister JoAnn-y.

Joey keeps checking to see if it's snowing

Apparently Joey (my nephew) is obsessed with snow (from our recent 1inch snow fall) and keeps checking the window for “no” (snow).  Oh Joey, so silly you are.

And now, Lindsay from Running The Windy City tagged in me in her 11 Random Things Post!

The Rules
1. Post these rules
2. Post 11 random things about yourself
3. Answer the questions set out for you in the post you were tagged in
4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer in a post
5. Tell the people you tagged them on their blog
6. You have to tag 11 people, not just tag the people reading this…

11 Random Things About Me

  1. I can pop my shoulders out of the socket
  2. I used to cheer in high school and college
  3. My birthday is March 1st, and my Dad’s is the day after (March 2nd)
  4. I’ve been to Sri Lanka (for work)
  5. I recently (like 2 weeks ago) tried oatmeal for the first time in like 15 years – and i like it!
  6. I ate 3 4 candy canes today (the cherry kind!)
  7. I like my coffee with milk, lots of milk
  8. As much as i love candy/sugar, I dont really like baked goods
  9. I rarely get to work by 9am (but I’m trying!)
  10. I never eat anything before morning runs (even long runs – i know, its bad)
  11. I speak 3 languages : English, French (for the most part) and Haitian Creole

Lindsay’s Questions

1. What is your current food obsession? Oatmeal and tempeh! But not together!
2. What is your favorite movie? Should I be embarrassed to say Bring It On?
3. How do you like to spend your free time? Happy hour?

4. Why do you blog? To hold myself accountable for running and sticking to my training plans! And to get more involved in the running/healthy living community
5. Do you have any pets? Not with me in DC, but at home i have a cray dog named Sasha
6. Sweet or savory? SWEET, for sure!
7. What is your favorite place that you’ve traveled and why? Haiti, because my family is from there, and there’s so much more to the country than what the media shows you. 
8. If you could have lunch with any celebrity who would it be and where would you eat? Shalane Flanagan and we’d go to a burger joint (#runnerd)

9. What is one thing you can’t go a day without eating? Candy! :)
10. What is your favorite t.v. show? How I Met Your Mother
11. What was your favorite thing to do as a child? Climb the tree in the front yard

My Questions

  1. What is your favorite candy?
  2. Favorite holiday – 4th of July bc its warm or Thanksgiving bc of the spread?
  3. Coffee or tea?
  4. Do you feel lost without your cell phone?
  5. Favorite city in the US?
  6. City/state you want to visit next?
  7. What country would you like to travel to right now?
  8. Are you excited for the Summer Olympics??!!
  9. What is your favorite breakfast?
  10. What language do you wish you spoke?
  11. What’s one tip that transformed your diet/fitness level?

And now I tag…

Stacie @ Racy Stacie

Jessica @ Sushi and Sit-Ups

Bearrunner

Julia @ C’est La Vie

Carly @ Carly Bananas

Hope you had a SUPER Monday, and your Tuesday is going even better!  3 days until I go to MIAMI!! :)

-daph

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Monday? DONE

  1. Yay for Miami!!! And I didn’t really get into oatmeal until this fall and now I love it too. Weird how that happens

  2. I’ve been having some pain in the side of my shin/calf as well, and I think it’s associated with the pain I feel in my heel on impact (haven’t tried running on it, but walking seems to be mostly OK; going down stairs is very uncomfortable). I’m still trying to figure out what to do about it. When it was tight (before the pain), I used my fingers to kind of massage the muscles.

  3. Thanks for tagging me!! I LOVE that you’re still eating candy canes. I definitely didn’t get enough in December!

  4. Oooh I wish I was going to Miami! I’m heading to L.A. next week for my first half, but it won’t be nearly as warm. I don’t usually have shin pain, but I heard that compression sleeves do wonders. I bought Zensah compression sleeves to help ease the tightness after switching to running on the balls of my feet, but they’re supposed to be amazing for shins/shin splits.

  5. I definitely go through my oatmeal phases!! I bought a ten pound box of it from Cosco last year when I was in one of those phases. Haven’t had it in awhile, but I still have plenty left when I get back in that phase. I usually like putting maple syrup, almonds, and brown sugar in it…yummmmm.

    Where exactly does your shin hurt? Along the inner part of your shins? I have dealt with just about every running injury, the most common of which is shin splints. Here’s a post I wrote about shin splints: http://wp.me/sVLR9-3089

  6. Pingback: You’re so vain | sushiandsitups

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

